Oatmeal Cookies and Bananas

Welcome to everyone! I’m glad you’ve reached this far. My family feeds kids in the Holy Spirit Elementary school weekly (every Friday, 3:30). Baking oatmeal cookies is a lot harder than making sandwiches, as we found out at the end of the day.
September 2, 2011
 

We had breakfast of canned tuna in the morning. While we ate breakfast, Mom said to Papa, “Eco and I are going with you to buy apples for the kids.” Then she said, “I’m going to leave Zoe (that’s my nickname at home!)with the kids(Oz, Zia,and Appy) so she could guard them while we were away.” “Okay.” ,Papa replied. When we finished, we all went to the room where Appy was sleeping. Appy woke up just as Eco finished taking a bath after Mom and Papa. Then Mom took Appy to the dining table to eat breakfast. When Appy finished eating, Mom brushed her teeth and she ran to the room. Then Mom, Papa, and Eco all dressed up and they went to Trinoma. They told me to help Lola take care of my brother and my sisters until they get home. “Okay.”, I said. “BYE!“, we all said when they were out of the gate. Then we returned to the room. After awhile, Appy asked for tv and I turned it on for Appy and went to the computer to use it. Oz used another computer.

This went on for a while, until Papa called me on the phone and told me to cook rice. I went to the refrigerator and took out the leftover rice. I cooked the rice by heating it onto a wok. After that, Papa called on the phone and told me to wait at the gate. I called Oz and told Zia to guard Appy for a while, saying that Mom, Papa, and Eco are almost home and they needed help with the groceries. She said yes, then Oz and I went outside the gate. A taxi came to a stop in front of us and Papa came out. He asked the driver to open the trunk and we took out the groceries. We brought them inside and I locked the gate. I helped put the groceries where they belong and set the table for lunch. We ate the lunch Papa bought from Trinoma. When we finished, we fixed the table. “Hurry up!” ,Papa said. “You’re still going to bake a lot of cookies.”

Cookies? What cookies?

I wondered. “Mom, did you and Eco buy apples?” “No” ,she answered. “We bought ingredients for oatmeal cookies instead. We couldn’t find any good apples that fit our budget.” Oh! So that’s why Papa asked me to hurry up. We had to bake cookies for 65 kids, I thought. Mom put the ingredients on the table. Then The ingredientsshe followed the recipe in her notebook. She combined some of the ingredients and asked me to use the hand mixer to mix theThe cookie mix ingredients in the bowl. I did just that, and in a few minutes the mixture was smooth and the ingredients are properly mixed. Mom put the other ingredients in the bowl and I continuously mixed it. Then mom put spoonfuls of the mixture on a cookie sheet and put the cookie sheet on a baking pan. Then she put it in the oven and baked it for 12 minutes. While the cookies are baking, Eco and I took some paper bags and plastic sandwich bags and counted them. We had to make sure that we had enough bags to put the cookies in. When the cookies were baked and cooled down, we put one cookie in each bag. Our goal was to put three cookies in each bag, but Eco, cutting a cookie sheetafter we baked all the cookies, we found out that we don’t have enough cookies. “What are we going to do? It’s 2:45 and we don’t have much time to make and bake another batch of cookies.” Then she got an idea. “I know! Get dressed. Let’s go to the school now. Onuncooked cookies the way, let’s buy some bananas.” So we did get dressed. We climbed in a taxi and the car began to head toward the direction of the school. Then the car came to a stop beside a sidewalk with fruit vendors. Mom got out of the car and began to look at the bananas. As we waited, Zia, Oz and Eco began talking. I looked outside the window. I saw the fruit vendors selling dalandans, rambutans, and bananas. Then Mom went inside the car with the bananas inside the trunk. “Let’s go!” ,she said.

When we arrived, we met with the principal again. Then we gave out the food. Zia and Oz gave the bananas ; Eco and I gave out the cookies. The principal thanked us again, and kindly told us to come at 3:30 again. We also thanked her, and we went back home. And back at home, I made cranberry-cherry oatmeal cookies for my whole family. 😀

baked cookiesEco and Zia, packing cookies in plastic bagsbagsbananasKidsKids

KidsKidsKids

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1   1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 °F.
  2. Cream the butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla.
  3. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; stir into the creamed mixture until just blended.
  4. Mix in the oats, walnuts, and the chocolate chips. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  5. Bake for 12 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on cookie sheet for 5 minutes, then cool on wire rack.
 The story is about our charity. We gave out cookies and bananas today. It was an interesting experience. My family will continue to do it for years to come! 
 
Don’t forget!
You can always check out my brothers’ blogs below: Just click one (or both!):
(Click Here!) The Healthy Kidchen logoPlease support our charity , The Healthy Kidchen. Please click here to donate.

You can also find me on Facebook by typing “Gabrielle Feria” on the search bar.
You can also leave me some questions/comments/suggestions below my post. Remember, don’t hesitate!

Thank you for reading my blog, everyone!

Comments
One Response to “Oatmeal Cookies and Bananas”
  1. zoeferia says:

    Thank you for reading, everyone! If you give me a link to your blog, I’ll read it. Promise! 😉

Leave a Reply

