Theater Summer Workshop 2014

Hi guys! I’m here today to talk about my theater summer workshop that just ended last May 16, 2014. I’ve been working hard just to get onstage and perform! Read about it below.

 

So it started like this: Last February, I watched the Wicked musical at the CCP Theater, Manila, Philippines. I was entranced by the wondrous play, its talented, expressive performers, and the brilliant lighting. It was simply fascinating, so perfect that it inspired me to take theater classes. After much researching, my mom offered me the Dulaang UP Summer Workshop. I took it (of course!) and we paid for a slot.

UPstage 2014

UPstage 2014

My first day was on April 23, 2014 at Teatro Hermogenes Ylagan in U.P. My classmates there are mostly college freshmen, and there are very few kids below 15 years old. There were so many of them, and it seemed that they already knew each other. Our first lesson was about Puppetry. There was a 1-hour lecture, then we were divided into 8 groups of 5 (40 students!). We made puppets and a story to go with them. Ours was about a kid who was often ignored by her parents. I had a lot of fun, and I learned a lot of stuff, like kinds of puppetry(shadow puppets, hand puppets, marionettes, shadow puppets, etc.) and Filipino theater history.

The next day, our lesson was about Mask Making. We learned about designing masks based on the feelings of a song, and making masks through the personality of a character. I also learned how to use plaster for a mask, too. On the third day, we did Movement. Me made a dance and performed exercises to strengthen our diaphragms.

On April 28, 2014, we had a lesson about Prop Making. We were divided into groups once again. My group made a crown, a sword and a chestplate. We used a thick type of foam, primarily used for props, and a type of adhesive that is really hot when your skin touches it. We used spray paint, coloured pencils, and poster paint to design our props. The day after, we had an Acting lesson for the whole day. We played games to strengthen our concentration, and had a short lecture about acting. The next day, we had Acting class from 10:00 to 12:00, then we had Voice class, which had a 1-hour lecture, then we had games to strengthen our voices.

On May 5, 2014, we had an audition for the directors of 4 plays, and we made a dance. The day after that, we had our plays and roles assigned, and I got  Tagapamahala, which is the narrator of the play. I was assigned the play “Doon po sa Amin”, which was an adaptation of Thornton Wilder’s “Our Town”. The rest of the 2 weeks, we rehearsed and memorized, we added dance moves for our dance with a song from Hairspray: “Nicest Kids in Town”, and some of us were chosen for the dance to Pink’s “Try”.

The days flew by, and on May 16, we perfected both dances, polished our plays, and did a preview. And at 7:00 P.M., our show began. The first play was “Adarna”, which was about a bird that could turn people to stone and heal people with its song. The next one was “Doon po sa Amin”, in which I was in.

"Doon po sa Amin"

“Doon po sa Amin”

The after that one, the dancers danced to Pink’s “Try”. The next play was “Palanca in my Mind”, which was about a girl who dreamt of winning the Carlos Palanca Memorial Award for Literature.

"Palanca in my Mind"

“Palanca in my Mind”

The last play was “Santong Tao”, which was really nice and funny, to me anyway.

"Santong Tao"

“Santong Tao”

And lastly, we danced “Nicest Kids in Town”. I loved that one. We finished off with the awarding of certificates to each one of us.

Certificate Awarding

Certificate Awarding

I was really happy, and a bit sad that I wouldn’t see my friends again, but at least I could talk to them anytime. I would cherish those friendships, those memories, those times, when we enjoyed, laughed, and made fun of each other. I had a lot of fun, and I experienced and learned lots of things. It was the best experience I ever had.

Leave a Reply

